Recording audio signals

Hi,I’m new to QNX and I’m trying to record radio signals and transfer them to another program in a file.I’ve tried to use the waverec.c program in the audio developers guide but can’t get the data recorded in readable text format.I want an array of the digits representing the sound recorded so I can use this data in another program. Can you help?

OK, so you record a buffer of data (which represents the PCM data). What kind of text format to you want to write it out in? It is binary data. What format does your other program want it in?

I want to write it as a text file…My program takes data as digits…1,0.004,0.7,-0.3 ,for example.I looked at the waverec.c program and i’m thinking it’s the riff_hdr struct that causes me to get data that’s not completely readable…am I right? My program accepts the data as text…Thanks for the reply…

I assume this array of digits you want has some meaning. Basically wavrec shows you how to set up the hardware to give you buffers of raw PCM data. It writes the header to the output file (which describes the format of the data) and then n buffers of data in the format previously described.

The header describes how many voices(stero, mono), the bitrate, etc… All of this effects the interpretation of the data. The data buffer is going to represent n “samples” of data in the format specified. It is up to you to interpret what that means.

If you choose 8 bits, mono, then each byte in the mSampleBfr1 will represent a sample - if you want to print that as a number from 0-255, or as a bit pattern (01101101), it is up to you.

As far as your text format goes, what do the number represent? Are they integers, or floating point? What are the valid ranges? All of this is very important if you want to generate data for your program to read.

Rick…