ISR and serial port

Hello ^^

I am writing code to handle a device sending loads of data through serial port. I have to manage emptying the serial buffer at least every 13 milliseconds or so.
I am using interrupts to know when the data is ready, and so I am planning to use the Interrupt Service Routine to empty the buffer as quickly as possible and store the data somewhere.

My problems are:

• the ISR’s stack is limited to 200 bytes or so, so I can’t use this space to store my data.
  • the read function won’t allow me to use a volatile variable.

I have little experience with real time systems so there must be a way but I can’t think of one :-/

Has any of you encountered this kind of problem before ?
Any help appreciated ^^

Can’t you just use the standard serial port?

The ISR can access data through a global variable, doesn’t need to be on the stack.

Are you talking about read() or your own read. I can’t figure out why you would want to pass a volatile pointer to read(). By the way you can use volatile with proper case, but the read function will not use it as such. I don’t see the connetion between ISR and read().

Or is it that you plan on using read() in the ISR? You can’t do that. Read the documentation most C calls cannot be using in ISR.

OK so it was a stupid question sorry ^^
I was trying to use read in the ISR :-/

So let’s say: “any way to get the serial buffer copied in the ISR ?”

I don’t beleive there is such a thing as a stupid question!

I can’t make sense of your question. I will try to guess what you are trying to do.

You are using an interrupt to know when the data is ready. What is the source of that interrupt? The serial chip? What to you mean by “get the serial buffer copied in the ISR”, where to you want to copy it from and to where?

Basicaly if you want to read data from a serial port you do.

fd open("/dev/ser1" );
read( fd, buffer, size of data )
close().

The serial driver will handle all the interrupt of the serial port for you