Another USB mouse question (QNX 6.2.1)!!!

First of all, let me start by stating that I am a complete QNX newbie. So, whatever suggests that are given need to be very descriptive. Secondly, I have read all the different forms about usb mouse not working with QNX. I have tried various suggestions, such as “kbd fd -d/dev/kbd ps2 mousedev msoft fd -d/dev/usbmouse0”. Almost every forum I have read has “/dev/usbmouse0” somewhere in the script. The problem is that my machine does not have “/dev/usbmouse0”. I don’t see “usb” anywhere in the /dev directory. This may be due to the fact that my system halts at the log in prompt, if the usb mouse is install. So, to log-in, I have been unpluggin the mouse, and then re-plugging the mouse once the OS is started. So, basically, my questions are:

1. How can log-in to QNX with the USB mouse installed?

2. How can I create “/dev/usbmouse”?

Hopefully, my questions make sense to everyone, because I really need help on this situation.

1. /dev/* entried are created as and when the drivers are run. You need to use usb-uhci/usb-ohci to first start the USB driver (one of those two will work, exactly which depends on your comp. usb-ohci is more common though.). After that running devu-mouse will give you /dev/usbmouse. You can edit /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit and put both of these commands there.

After that you can use option “kbd fd -d/dev/kbd msoft fd -d/dev/usbmouse0” in script to start your USB mouse. No need to put the “ps2 mousedev” portion as it applies only to ps2 mouse.