Writing game using QNX

Hi everyone, I am a student studying Computer Engineering in the Chinese University in Hong Kong.

I am now doing a Final Year Project based on QNX. I have to write a big game using QNX 's special feature : Message passing. (fun?)

We have to write a 3D game. However, seems no openGL library for QNX…( I can’t search for it…). Then today I found that “photon 3D” which has the description : “Photon 3d Runtime and Developement”

is it useful to me…? if so, can anyone tell me how it can be used?

at the same time, I need to write a program which gets the keyboard input from users. After getting the input, a message will be sent to another process. However, I get no idea on how to detect what keys are being pressed.

Actually, we have used the SDL library to due with the GUI. SDL also provide us a way to get input from users. However, no multiuple key is allowed if we use SDL. So it will be very stupid if we use it for the input of the game.

Can anyone kindly help us on the above problems?? Thx!!! :slight_smile:

check here. and also look into QNXGL library.

openqnx.com/PNphpBB2-viewtopic-t587-.html

openqnx.com/PNphpBB2-viewtopic-t569-.html

qnx.com/developers/6_3_glance.html

qnx.com/news/pr_621_2.html

thx very much
i have installed photon3d and i find the gl.h, glu.h and glut.h
but when i compile the code
what argument should i type?
i have googled and tried
gcc hello.c -o hello -lGL -lGLU -lGLUT
however, it said cannot find -lGLUT
(i am sure -lGL and -lGLU are available)
i also tried -lMesaGlut, -lMesa-Glut…
still fail…
anyone knows the correct argument?
or how can i check what argument available to me now in the systme??

it seems like you have not set the “extra path” for your linker. Make sure you give the path to the linker which has GLUT.so or GlUT.a
I haven’t installed those packages my self so I wouldn’t know where they are located.