logout

and then, it always show me login, login,login… like this:
login:root
login:login incorrect

It seems that the superuser root and its associated folders and files have been damaged cause my misuseing passwd, right?

How can I fix it with least touch on the original system?

As a newbie here, appreciate any of your help and suggestions! :open_mouth:

I don’t know what went wrong, but to fix it you could boot from the CD and edit /etc/passwd to remove the x found on the line that defines root. Or you could move the HD to another machine that has QNX6, mount that hardware and then manually edit /etc/passwd.

hi,

I guess the problem is from my using “passwd root”, which actually create a new user named “root” to overwrite the system administrator"root".
This may be a misuse of passwd command.

The situation here is that this is an “old” pc/104 embedded system, built by other guys a few years ago. It does not have hard drive, floppy disk drive and cd drive, although it has an 80 pins I/O connector on the motherboard.

Is there any other method to fix this problem without reboot from a CD drive?

I can login using another account which is not set a password. Any user account setup with password can not login into this pc/104 computer. Sounds weird?

It’s possible that the installation is corrupted. There was some patch issue that solved security issue, mainly generation of password. It’s possible that this security update wasn’t installed correctly. You might have an old passwd program with a new login program or vice versa.

Unless some of the user you can login to were somewhat given root permission then there is nothing you can do but boot from a CD (or HD).

It must have some sort of storage device, probably a disk on chip or compact flash. You can also install a network card that you could boot from (but that’s not easy for beginners)