QNX on Gameboy Advance (GBA) ??

Hi all…

First, I am sorry if this thread happen to be in the wrong forum-group… its my first post.

So yea… Im new to the QNX realm… I tampered with it few years back… but after I graduated I decided to expand my interests… Anyways… back to the topic of this thread…

Ive recently downloaded the free QNX ISO version, and will be installing it very soon, once I have a decent box to work with… but I began researching and reading up on the ARM technology and realizied that the GBA uses the ARM chip… lightblub Any ideas if this is feasible? Can QNX be used on the GBA?

ideas, comments suggestions are welcomed… :slight_smile:

and thank you for having me aboard.

ramie

AFAIK the GBA does not have a MMU, so no, QNX won’t run on it.

correct, the ARM in the GBA is very basic and does not include the MMU. It is also very slow (7Mhz). You might want to checkout eQip though - eqip.sf.net/

cools…

thanx for the heads up… :slight_smile:

ramie

Sorry to dig up old bones with this post, but I was wondering about this recently and found something that might change the situation.

There is a company called Charmed Labs (www.charmedlabs.com) that makes boards to interface with the GBA. They use an FPGA to demux the memory and read/write to flash memory. (This implements the MMU, right?)

I have been programming a CAN driver in QNX and was going to use the GBA with the “Xport Dev Kit” to implement additional CAN nodes. If I could run QNX on the ARM with the Xport then there is a chance I could reuse much of my driver code once I configure the FPGA. With the Xport would it be possible to run QNX on this ARM processor, or would it still be too slow?

No MMU is much more complex concept then that.

what else would the FPGA have to do?

My guess is it cant emulate the ARM MMU, since i beleive the MMU must be using extra instruction.. I dont know nothing about ARM cpu but I guestimating based on other CPU.