serial port reading

Hi,

I am a newbie in QNX. Hmm I am encountering a problem with reading from serial port.

I am using a Cool EcoRunner Dual Ethernet PC/104-CPU Board with QNX as the OS. I am using the CPU to control a robot which uses sensors to detect its position. This sensor will pass the readings to the CPU via serial port, RS-232.

But the problem occurs. Here is the sequence of how I read the data.

1. Open the port using open()
  2. Read the data using read() function (I read many bytes at one time).

However, sometimes, the CPU board stops reading after managed to get a few readings (2-3 readings) from the serial port.

My question are:

1. Are there anything need to be done to read from a serial port beside opening using open()

2. I read somewhere in the forum that I need to use threadctl() command to give I/O priority to the program. Err… where should I put this command? is it before open() or after open() but before read()

Any answer is much appreciated.

Thx a lot :smiley:

1, by default the serial port uses hardware handshake. Either you disable it ( check tcsetattr() ) or you setup the proper cabling.
2, threadctl is only required if you directly access the IO port, which you aren’t doing since you are going to POSIX open/read calls.

Hi2, thx for the reply,

yup2, I disabled the handshaking already, I used the termios class to do it. In the program, I used “variable.c_cflag &= ~(IHFLOW|OHFLOW)”
will that do the job?

I also use the termios class to set other settings such as the baudrate, timeout & others.

hmmm so the threadctl will not help eh? hmmm

Thx a lot Mario :smiley:

You may use readcond(), and also set size of IO internal hardware FIFO buffer, by set it when start serial driver (see option for driver).

Hi,

Thx a lot qnxloader. Hmm just wondering, will they give the same performance? I mean, the read() and readcond()? or does readcond() has any advantage over read()?