First time installing - Which one is it?

Hi everyone!

Another newbie here! Recently read about QNX on osnews.com and got curious. I’m actually a Windows user but I’ve done some experimenting with NetBSD, but no other systems.

I wanted to try QNX and registered to get a key and then went to get the iso, but which one is it? All I found was versions of Momentics… Finally I downloaded and burned “QNX Momentics Development Suite 6.3.2 - Windows Host”.

When I tried to boot and make a fresh install with this CD I ran into problems (both in VMware and on an old machine). The boot process starts with “Hit Esc for .altboot …” but just keeps on adding dots. Nothing happens! What’s the problem? :frowning:

I just read in another post (dated 2006 something) that this is the wrong iso. The ones I should use are:
6.3.0-qnx-200405141702.iso → the OS and associated tools
ntocore-6.3.2-20060811628-nto.sh → the update to the Neutrino kernel
6.3.0sp2-qnx6-20052661645.sh → service pack 2

However, I can’t seem to find these on the webpage. Also, the one I downloaded (Momentics Development Suite) should include the QNX Neutrino RTOS according to the download page. So, which one am I supposed to use? …really confused! :confused:

Can’t see why it need to be this hard. Other systems usually have a “Download now” directly on the startpage, or at least not far away. But then again, I’m new in the QNX world :slight_smile:

Appreciate any help!
/ Mikael

“Windows Host” version, as far as I know, is ok if you choose to develop your programs in windows environment but to have them run you need a target machine (even a small/old one) running QNX, and to debug them the latter must be connected to the former by net or serial cable.