QNX RTOS dual boot linux on embedded car infotainment system

Well the title pretty much says it all. I studied embedded systems and programming in college ( Computer Engineer), so I’m fairly comfortable with this topic.

I have a infinti G37 car with a infotainment system which has navigation, mp3 storage on a 9.3gb partition ( os is on a 18gb partition ), access to ac/heater/mileage/ etc, as well as the ability to read cd’s (audio or mp3) and Compact Flash cards. I want to image the drive for backup, buy a new drive, verify the new image on the new drive works, then make a new partition and install linux on it. That sounds fairly straight forward, the only issue is data entry ( I’ll need a keyboard ) and knowing the hardware it is running on. I’m fairly certain the hardware it uses will be able to run windows.

The end product would be to have a linux os that is dual booted with the qnx os and the ability to use the touchscreen 7 inch display as the input/output.

What do you guys think about this? How hard would it be to accomplish this and can you point me in the right direction, without knowing anything about the hardware it is running on?

This sounds quite ambitious. My first question is, what processor is being used? My second question is, why ask about this on a QNX board? It sounds like you want to keep the QNX partition static, and add your own linux partition and/or Windows partition. Dual boot has to do with the boot loader, not QNX, and QNX won’t interfere if you boot off of another partition. Since there probably is no keyboard, the boot loader will need to detect some kind of hardware switch to tell it which partition to boot.

I don’t know what you want to run on the Linux system, but it might be easier to port it to QNX and load it in yourself. Of course that would mean poking into the infotainment system user controls.