Migrating QNX2.15 to new PC

Hello all,

As a complete newbee on QNX I have a big problem.

At work we have a machine working on a 486 computer running qnx2.15.
As far as I know its only running 1 program, witch controls the machine via a serial connection.

The 486 is old and start to give problems so we have to replace it.
Is it possible to migrate the whole system and program into a new computer?
What would it take to do so?

If anyone can help me with some info, please !!

Kind regards,

Theo

QNX 2.15 will run on machines faster than a 486, but there are potential problems. For one, somewhere between a 486/50 and a P1/100 the floppy stops working. So it becomes impossible to boot off of a floppy, and therefore impossible to install. The work around is to slow down the processor in the BIOS if you can, install and then set it back, assuming you don’t need the floppy. You could of course leave it running slow.

It also might be possible to install using one slower machine, and then move the hard drive. It is also possible to boot QNX 2.15 over the network assuming you have another working QNX 2 machine, and 2 Cornet cards, but see further below.

I’ve had QNX 2.15G or H running on a 300Mhz PII, but it is quite possible that it will absolutely stop at some higher speed processor. I’ve never heard of it running native on a P4, but that doesn’t mean it won’t. It is quite possible to run it under VM Ware, but then hardware becomes an issue. If you stick to serial and parallel, you might be ok.

Cornet Arcnet cards are ISA 8 bit only as far as I know. There was a PS/2 card, which I don’t think is of any importance. I don’t think there ever was a PCI version. You could always try to get what’s left of Corman out of retirement and ask them to build one, they’d probably only charge a million or two to do it.