Qnet and realtime

Hi!

Our company is looking to build a distributed real time embedded control system, and as we are at the very beginning of development, we are looking for an operating system that suits our needs. Among many other reasons, one particular thing that drew our attention toward QNX is Qnet, which seems like the thing we are looking for. First of all, I am a complete newbie to QNX, having learned everything I know about it by skimming through parts of the documentation on QNX’s website. My question would be, since Qnet uses a protocol different from TCP/IP, does that mean, that Qnet provides realtime behavior? The Qnet chapter of the guide on qnx’s website, doesn’t mention anything about Qnet’s being realtime. And if not, since, from what I understand, Qnet’s been designed in such a fashion, that most of the communication layers are swappable, is it possible to modify it to be 100% deterministic, by say, exchanging the actual transport protocol, with something suitable(something like RTMAC in the RTnet linux framework)? And would something like this require changes at the driver level?
Sorry for asking so much questions, but we would really like to know what we are up to, and what level of effort would such a thing would require, so we could decide for or against using it.

Yes, it does. Since Qnet simply extends the kernel, priority is conveyed with the message, and priority queuing applies. Priority inheritance even works across the network (all of this just falls out of the design, since Qnet is only extending the kernel itself).

Qnet is deterministic, as long as the transport itself is deterministic.

The driver only needs to be written. For instance Qnet runs over rapid-IO, and since rapid-IO has a deterministic arbitration scheme, it is completely deterministic.