serial communication by using PhAB

Hi everyone,
I am going to build a serial communication application with PhAB. I need a window to show the received data, which widget should I use?
Is there any example of serial communication avialable? Thanks very much!

I suggest you to make a separate “server” that communicates with the hardware (a resource manager), and dedicate the graphical application only to show the data received by it… So the app send a msg to the RM, the RM implements the serial communication and when it has the data from somewhere, then it Reply with it to your graphical app.

IMHO I don’t think is a good idea to communicate “directly” with hardware from you graphical app… Maybe in the future more apps or other proceeses will need to communicate with the same hardware and if you have that intermediary “server”, it will be very easy to synchronize all the clients you need…

Regards,
JM

Thank you juanplacco,
your suggestion is a very good idea, but I am a newbie of QNX, so it is difficult for me to write a RM…

hum… It is no so difficult to write a RM since it is very well documented.

Anyway, I sent you a code, which I hope is helpful.

To get started writing and reading to/from the serial port, you can just use standars open/read/write functions… like

fd = open( “/dev/ser1”, O_RDONLY );
size_read = read( fd, buffer, sizeof( buffer ) );

To set the configuration of the stream you can do it from the console with stty command. For example:

stty baud=9600 bits=8 stopb=1 par=none < /dev/ser1

Ok, “I can only show you the door, you’re the one that has to walk through it” (Morpheus) :smiley:

Good Luck
JM

You can also code your I/O functions from your graphical app if you want to have an easier start…

qnx.com/developers/docs/6.3. … /open.html
qnx.com/developers/docs/6.3. … /read.html
qnx.com/developers/docs/6.3. … write.html

JM