2D graphics HW acceleration

Dear All!

I ask you some link, web adress, or any other information to usage of Advanced Graphics (GF) 2D hardware accelerating HOW-TO or some trick.

Platform: x86, QNX 6.4 & GF on Intel ATOM w. 945 chipset, 1GB memory.

The task: move relatively big amount bitmaps, on this a lot of small (65x65px) PNG w. they alpha channel. It run in fullscreen mode, moreover need to drive a 16:9 LCD, not a “standard” 4:3. I studied the GF sample codes (e.g. vsync.c), and QNX internal Helps. They did not manage to attain rather fast velocity (11-12FPS). I try this under Photon w. double buffered OSContainer, the framerate was 4-6 FPS. I think, the hw acceleration not only ~3-4x faster than VESABIOS or Photon.

I say thank you for your answer: illes

What video driver you use?

I try w. devg-i830 and devg-gma9xx too. That’s started on i945 chipset.

There was supposed to be a feature in Photon 2.0 which I never looked into. It was supposed to allow you to create an area that you had direct memory access to. I never looked into it, and I think it might have needed some hardware support.

What video mode are you in (number of colors?) and what method are you using to put the images on the screen?

Thanks for your reply.

For your question, I have tried the all possible modes but it seems to be the
RGB565 (64k color mode) can gives the best possible performace now.
The others are showed slower operations.
For me the ARGB8888 mode would be required due to transparency.

Now I have been using the gf_draw_blit2() function to put images onto the screen - with double buffering method.
The problems come into real when Alpha Blending operation is used. When it has been used, unfortunately the performance significantly degradated.
The driver’s documentation in the help system declares that this driver ( devg-gma9xx.so ) supports the Alpha Blending.