memmove

Hello eveyone
I started porting an application from windows to QNX. So I’m very new in QNX development !!
I’ve a problem which started to give me headache :

I try the following code :

struct test{
_uint8 mByte;
_uint32 mInt;
_uint8 mByte2;
_uint8 mByte3;
_uint8 mByte4;
};

char mTmpArray[8] = {0x0D, 0x42, 0x63, 0x00, 0x00, 0x50, 0x72, 0x65};

test* mEnv = (test*)malloc(sizeof(test));
memmove(mEnv, mTmpArray, 8);

I should have :

mByte = 0x0D
mInt = 0x00006342
mByte2 = 0x50
mByte3 = 0x72
mByte4 = 0x65

but I have

mByte = 0x0D
mInt = 0x65725000
mByte2 = 0
mByte3 = 0
mByte4 = 0

What is wrong in my code ?
Thanks in advance
Arnaud

This issue is alignment. It is more efficient handling 32 byte words that are aligned on a 32 byte boundary so some compilers will by default insert bytes. If you want the code to work as before you will have to “pack” the structure. This will make it slightly less efficient to access. This may help:

gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc/Struc … agmas.html

To simplify what Maschoen wrote:

#pragma pack(push, 1)
struct test{
_uint8 mByte;
_uint32 mInt;
_uint8 mByte2;
_uint8 mByte3;
_uint8 mByte4;
};
#pragma pack(pop)

will let your code behave as you expect.

Tim

Alternately:

struct test{
_uint8 mByte;
_uint32 mInt;
_uint8 mByte2;
_uint8 mByte3;
_uint8 mByte4;
}attribute((packed));

Another strategy that is often employed (although it won’t work with your code without rearranging the data in mTmpArray is to put the larger fields first:

struct test{
_uint32 mInt;
_uint8 mByte;
_uint8 mByte2;

}

This will automatically pack the structure, causes no lost off efficiency, and needs no compiler dependent code changes.

Another option is to pass -f pack-struct to the compiler. Hey! As I remember, gcc has a bug when compiling in C++ and does not recognize this flag (thanks God the #pragma still works fine). This issue made me scare few years ago migrating C++ code from QNX 4 to QNX 6…

I don’t know if it’s solved in gcc 4.2.4 …

JM