Reading the data from ethernet interface

Hi all,

I am a newbie. I have been programming in C but never used to socket/ioctl or accessing devices.

Here is my question.

I have to read data from my ethernet interface en0. I expect packets which give me the speed of motor. I have to store these values in a buffer.

I have to read the the interface every 1 second.

I have thought of the following.

Please help me out:

I set interupt which calls my read function. This function should access en0.

Do I use sockets? Should I open a socket to connect to en0 and then simply read this into my buffer?

Should I handle the packet for the data I want?
Should I do a TCP or IP socket? Ultimately I have to extract the velocity value. Does this mean I have to do some packet handling or are there some OS level handlers that I should use?

Where can I find more information on all this? I read a socket tutorial but there is nothing on packet handling.

I think what you mean is that you expect a data packet over ethernet every second. There are different strategies for doing this depending on the applications needs. Here are a few.

1. In a loop call read(). The thread will block until the data arrives and you can process it then.

2. Create a special thread that just calls read in a loop. When it gets the data, it has to transfer the data to another thread or process. With QNX you can have the thread send a message. Alternatively, you can pass the data in a buffer using a mutex or condvar for synchronization.

3. Use select, it will wait on multiple input events, such as data from a socket, or input from a keyboard.

Whether or not you use sockets depends on what is on the other end sending the data. The two high level protocols are TCP/IP and TCP/UDP. The latter seems more appropriate in your case. If the other end is just flinging an IP packet at you, you will need to look into the raw packet interface.