compiling a C code

hello, I’m a newbie (I started to work under QNX a week ago), so sorry if my question seems stupid :blush:.

I have been given a code made by another student so it is supposed to work. In the terminal, I type : gcc name_of_folder.c -o new_folder.exe

The system seems to recognize the headers as I don’t have any error message for this. But I’ve a whole page of (for exemple):
/tmp/cc7bnv0t.o: In function ‘tran_inv’:
/tmp/cc7bnv0t.o(.text+0x8185): undefined reference to ‘atan2’
/tmp/cc7bnv0t.o(.text+0x81d2): undefined reference to ‘_Sin’
/tmp/cc7bnv0t.o(.text+0x8292): undefined reference to ‘sqrt’

etc…
Should I type others command to make the programm work ?
Can I find all these kinds of information somewhere ?
Thank you

Sounds like you are not linking against the math library.

try:

qcc name_of_file.c -o new_file -lm

There is no need for a .exe extension under QNX, as the executable attribute is part of the files directory entry.

You may also want to ensure that the dir your maths lib is in, is included in the LD_LIBRARY_PATH environment variable.

rgallen>
with your information, I’m now linking against the math library, but not against the others libraries. So I guess “-lm” refers to math.h, but how can I know the links to the other ones ? Or is there another mean to manage ?
Moreover, what is the difference between qcc and gcc ?

thegman>
how can I access LD_LIBRARY_PATH ?

Thank you you two for your answers (and your patience :laughing: )

Once the code can run, I would like to have it run via PhAB. I read the tutorial about the callbacks. So do I only have to click on “view → callbacks → Arm → Code” then to enter a name, to edit this code and replace it by the previous code to make it work ? Or am I far from reality :unamused: ?

qcc is the compiler that comes with QNX, gcc is the GNU compiler, to be honest I don’t know which is better optimised for QNX/intel.

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/usr/local/lib