QNX NC 6.2.1 + QEMU

Hello,

I am new to qnx and would like to try it out. However, because I dont want to play with partitions I am trying it under qemu (i know I am asking for pain doing this, but hey its good pain :slight_smile: ). I have downloaded the QNX NC 6.2.1 cd and I can get it to boot. I press space and force partition install. It goes along alright until it gets to select a disk which gives me no options to select. no matter what I press i get invalid option and no other thing to do than reboot. I realise that qemu hasn’t got pci working correctly but surely there is a work around for this (I mention pci as it was the problem I had installing Syllable)?? I mean the disk is there, completely empty with no partition map on it at all. It should be detected as the first IDE drive but the menu has no options implying that it hasn’t been detected (even when I turn verbose on). The only message I get is the:

No PnP bios detected (no error) (or something similar).

has anybody encountered this?? any help would be greatly appreciated. i know its possible as there are screenshots: hhungry.hp.infoseek.co.jp/qnx.jpg

I don’t know about qemu but VMWare is support. There is even a native VMware gfx driver in 6.3.

Without emulation of PCI bios it think it requires a custom boot image and startup. Could be worse if qemu implemention of PCI is buggy.

I must apologise as there was an error in my above post. the demodisk works perfectly under qemu. with the 6.2.1 NC bootable cd must one have a pre-partitioned disk or is a completely empty image enough for QNX to auto-detect?? because surely if the demo disk works, the cd should also work???

I’ve got QNX 6.3.0 booting from a disk image in both Bochs and Qemu. For Qemu, you need a very recent build, as they recently fixed something to do with hard disks, and I could only boot from CD-Rom with versions not having that fix. The following version of Qemu did boot QNX for me:

h6.dion.ne.jp/~kazuw/qemu-wi … dows-2.zip