USB Mice and QNX6.3

A quick disclaimer, I am a complete QNX newbie as well as being new to this forum. Sorry if this is long, but I want to lay everything out.

Here we go:

Board Specs:
Intel P4M 1.6GHz
Intel 855GME chipset
1GB ram
2.5" ATA Hard Drive
usb keyboard/mouse
dual GB ethernet and a 10/100 ethernet port

I just did a partion install of the QNX6.3 demo. If I had the mouse connected to the installation, it would lock up. I removed the mouse and completed the installation.

On boot, I reconnected the mouse and it locked up again at “detecting devices.” Once again I removed the mouse and rebooted. Everything was working great. I reconnected the mouse again after a complete boot, and it was not recognized.

So, at this point I swapped out another keyboard, reconnected the same mouse, and it locked on “detecting devices.” Then I put the original keyboard back and a new usb mouse, once again it locked up. Finally I have a completely new keyboard and mouse, no joy.

At this point I thought that possibly the drivers were not loaded or loaded incorrectly. While browsing through the /dev directory, I couldn’t find the /dev/usbmouse0 that every talks so much about :slight_smile: Also, there is no /dev/usb. I have tried the commands:

devu-mouse &
devi-hirun msoft fd -d/dev/usbmouse0 &

Of course this didn’t work since there was no usbmouse0. I tried the linux command

mknod /dev/usbmouse0 &

But the OS can’t find that script. So I’m at my wit’s end… any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi,
I had much the same problem, and got some help on this thread:

openqnx.com/index.php?name=P … +trackball

In the end, I ended up with something like the below, and that seems to do the trick.

io-usb -d uhci
waitfor /dev/usb
io-hid -d usb
devi-hid mouse

HTH

Garry

here’s a new twist… I can boot the machine and it work fine with ps2 mouse and keyboard. If I then unplug the ps2 mouse and attach the usb mouse, it works fine.