QNX 6.2.1a problems

hi,

I am new in QNX world, therefore I would like to ask some professionals to help me answer the following questions:

Please note that I run on Digital Celebrix P5 (x86) box with 96M RAM.

1. how can I swap/replace .boot and .altboot files. Seems it can not use DMA, but ESC does nothing. From other side it boots perfect from CD and start automatically my QNX from HD.

2. gcc does not work…

3. autoconf fails even with cc

4. bash crashes with core dump

… and I used QNX just two days.
There must be something that I missed.

Otherwise I like very much the installation, especially the online repository idea.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you in advance.

Regards, Z

1. The default install has .boot in DMA mode IF it supports DMA with your chipset. Look in the output of sloginfo (at the top) to see what modes the eide driver is using.

2. gcc certainly does work if you install the Momentics packages. Otherwise you don’t have gcc.

3. If you install all the GNU build tools they work on QNX.

4. How/when does it crash? I have been using bash under QNX6 for more then 3 years (6-8h/day) and never once had it crash.

hi,

thank you for help…

I reinstalled the whole box and installed everything available from all repositiries that have been offered.

Now bash works perfect.
BUT gcc does not work. Typical crash look like:

gcc -O2 -Wall -W -Wpointer-arith -Wbad-function-cast -Wcast-qual -Wstrict-prototypes -Wmissing-prototypes -Wmissing-declarations -Wnested-externs -Winline finger.c -c
gcc: Internal compiler error: program cpp0 got fatal signal 11
make: *** [finger.o] Error 1

There is yet another problem:
when I include php4_module in apache. It crashes with:

Syntax error on line 205 of /etc/apache/httpd.conf:
Cannot load /opt/lib/apache/mod_vhost_alias.so into server: Not enough memory

… even if there is no sytax error in line 205 nor around php module.

Thank you for offered help.