How to we assign deadline in QNX?

Ok, I am new to real-time programming and QNX. I have a question that I guess is too basic to ask but I really need to figure it out!

We know that a real-time OS can gurantee that if a task is supposed to finish at a given deanline, it will! But my question is that how do we assign such dealline for such thread?
I mean say, we have a periodic task that is supposed to run every 3ms and it is hard realtime. How do I setup such a thread in QNX? One method that I could think of is to set a timer that send a message to my thread every 3ms and activate it but this is not assigning deadline to this thread. what if something unpredictable happend and the OS take care of that and my task lose its HRAD real time features? In other word, how to I do strictly make qnx to run a thread every say 3ms and make it to arrange everything in such a way that no matter what, the task runs every 3ms. back to my question, how do we assign deadline for a task in QNX?

Thanks for your help in advance.
Mike

What you can do is setup a thread and create a timer which will fire a pulse every 3ms. Assign the pulse the highest priority possible and make sure that thread only deal with that pulse (not other messages). The only thing that will disrupt that thread are hardware interrupt or other hardware related issue.

You could also do the work in an interrupt routine but I’d stay away from that ;-)

The concept of deadline is more then an OS issue, it’s a design issue. If you need to do something that last 2.99 ms every 3ms that won’t work ;) You cannot specify when an operation must be completed (deadline) you can only control when it starts and who can or cannot disrupt it.