Embedded QNX on X86 platform

Hi all - this is my first post on these forums, so I will let you know now that I am very new to QNX. I have however been doing a lot of reading to familiarize myself.

I am involved in a project on which QNX is to be installed onto a PC104 X86 computer. Currently it has a 32MB IDE HDD - which may not be sufficient.

I am getting extremely confused when it comes to customizing QNX for my particular application, whereby I will require dev/ser1 and dev/ser2 to read from a GPS sysem and a cars ECU. Data willl be collected and stored on a USB flash disk. At the same time I want the data collection to be displayed graphically on a 6.4 inch LCD.
I wish be able to install/transfer QNX onto the PC104 - however can someone please (in laymans terms for now) shed some light as to how I find the appropriate BSP and how to upload the system from either an XP based machine with Momentics or a QNX Neutrino full system (running on a standard PC). Also briefly how i can easily select which parts of QNX I require and which ones I do not.

I am unsure whether you will be able to help me. The QNX online documentation is excessivley confusing at times and appears to be written with the assumption that you are already familar with the OS.

Any help would be greatly appriciated
Andrew

Brisbane, Australia

Is this for commercial or non commercial type of project?

its a university based project (my final year thesis) so i assume possibly commercial. However Universities are looked upon

I have been looking at the BSP’s for an X86 system - qnx.com does not have any X86 BSP’s in their developer support. Am I correct in assuming the BSP’s for an X86 based system are already in Netrino under the appropriate directory?

There are some BSP for some special x86 based devices, but generaly one should find all that is required in the x86 directory (or easier on the selfhosted config).