using modems in this way and would greatly appreciate a little
help on this.

I don’t care if I can run Photon remotely, BTW - a command line window
will serve nicely.

Thanks,
Randy

The below thread may be helpful:

openqnx.com/PNphpBB2-viewtopic-t1493-.html

This does indeed seem to have most of what I’m after. I think - I won’t know for sure 'til I’m done playing with it.

One immediate question: Randy (the other Randy) describes creating a script, /etc/run_pppd. What runs run_pppd? Does this get started in an rc file? Or what?

I have also read about the use of various forms of getty, which I mostly understand, BUT!. My background is mostly on OSes that use /etc/inittab, but I don’t find it on my QNX 6.1. What is the equivalent way in QNX to start up things like getty?

Thanks,
Randy

Back again.

I made the run_pppd script as described in the earlier reference. When I try to run it, I get two errors:

“pppd: too few parameters for option connect”

and

“run_pppd[4]: chat -vv -f/etc/answer: not found”

On the first, of course some options are in the /etc/ppp/options file. Should I think this is not getting read? And, if so, why not? I have a listing of pppd options, but no indication of which are required for connect.

On the second, I’m not sure what’s “not found”. chat is there, in the path; the usage message for it indicates the options I gave. /etc/answer is there. What am I missing?

Thanks again,
Randy

Here is the orginal post from the other Randy:

openqnx.com/newsgroups/viewtopic.php?t=13892

OK, that helped some more.

Now I can start pppd with the aforementioned options, and it appears to be waiting for RING.

The modem never answers, so now I’m thinking I have either a defective modem, or a modem for which no driver is on the system, or … Also, if I run ‘qtalk -m/dev/ser1’, I get no response to AT commands.