Is QNX6 any good?

Hi,

We have an old SCADA system that was developed on QNX4, I am wondering if it is worth porting atleast parts of it to QNX6. Keeping in mind that the system uses QNX Windows (which although old actually kept down the amount of graphical code to a minimum and was highly flexible).

I have no experience of QNX6 so I am wondering is it the right operating system to create a graphical SCADA system in? I don’t particularly like the look of Photon, it looks alot like X11 which will take alot of effort to program up before it starts to be useful. QNXWindows lent itself to SCADA work because the GUI editors had the concept of “tags” where a given tag could easily be replaced with a value, meaning that a SCADA engineer could draw his own screen formats and link the tags to a given sensor point.

I know there are some possible replacements, I.e. Tilcon www.tilcon.com for QNX6 but again I have heard mixed reports about Tilcon and their Demos werent really awe inspiring. Or perhaps use one of the OpenGL packages they offer for realtime (but again isnt that going to entail a large amount of development work).

Really the main reason you would want to use QNX6 is for its realtime capabilities, which means perhaps a better split would be QNX6 for the more realtime functions of control and calculations, whilst windows or Linux is used for data display.

What would then be a good method for data transfer between the QNX6 “Box” and the display… web services perhaps?

Another thing alot of SCADA customers want is OPC, yet OPC solutions are quite patchy again for QNX (of course OPC DA XML is supported but support for the older OPC COM/DCOM is limited).

One real plus point of QNX6 is its remote debugging and profiling capabilities, and the cross development environments. A possible -ve point is the lack of hardware support - something that has bitten us over time with QNX4 development.

Please - All possible viewpoints and pointers are of value…