Establish IP address for QNX on Virtual PC, running on XP

I’m totally new to QNX and Unix related OSes.
I installed Virtual PC on my XP, and installed QNX inside the Virtual PC.
I have a software that I want to use the QNX for, which uses the QNX as a server.
In the installation, it asks for the QNX IP address, and I did not succeed in giving it the right answer yet.

I even installed the ‘loopback adapter’, and know how to assign it static IP address. I do not know how to ping the QNX to see if it recognizes the adapter also (It does show on the Virtual PC console), and make it so the bi-directional communication is established between the XP side of the software and the QNX.

Can somebody help?

Let me see if I’ve got this right. You want to establish a TCP/IP connection between XP and QNX, both running on the same hardware, but QNX is running inside a Virtual PC. Let me assume that there is no problem on the XP side, as I wouldn’t know how to help with that anyway.

So QNX would have to see some virtual hardware, and run the proper driver for it. Does Virtual PC provide this virtual hardware, and is it for NIC supported by QNX? If so, then the IP address you will need to provide, is the one that you assign inside of QNX using the network configuration utility. That is assuming you aren’t using DHCP, in which case there isn’t a way to know it beforehand.

The easiest is to use bridge network and have the two machines use a FIX ip address. However the trick is that you need to have to be physically connected to a network (sounds strange I know but that is my observation).

Thanks guys,
I will, with you permission ask of you some more assistance:
‘maschoen’: On the XP side, I added a ‘network adapter’ - which is vrtual, AKA ‘Microsoft loopback adapter’.
The Virtual PC recognizes it. What I need to know is the exact script to write in the QNX
(maybe inside the ‘etc’ folder) to try and check its activity and identification from the QNX