need help with a program for real-time OS class

hey everyone. First I must say that I’m a college student and a total a newbie about QNX :slight_smile: i’ve done some C programing during the C class at the university where i study, but it was all NOT under QNX :frowning: now i started a new class ‘real-time operating systems’ and to pass it i need to complete a project. I was told to write a program in C under QNX. The program’s goal is to flash with leds connected to the pc via the parralel port (LPT) in a certain way. I’ve connected two leds, so far i’ve written a program that comunicates with the port and flashes the led’s. What i should do is write it the way that both of the leds would flash in the same sequence (for instance 2 seconds on, one second off) but one of them would have tha highest priority and the second about middle priority). Then I’m planning to write a second program to ask for the priority that it should take and do something to slow down the system, so that when the amount of those programs (for instance with a priority higher than led1 but lower than led2) would grow, you will be able to see that the first led becomes unsynchronised with the second led. For now the main problem is that I don’t know what should i write in the program to set the functions priority. I’m aware that it may sound like 'no problem for you guys, and setting priorities is one of the essential things in a real-time OS like QNX, but as I’ve already said - I’m a newbie. I would realy aprecieate Your help. Sorry for any written mistakes, but I’m not English. Thanks :slight_smile:

Here is how I think you should do this.

1. High priority process
    Loop
    sleep 1
    turn LED on
    sleep 1
    turn LED off

2. Medium priority
    Loop
    sleep 1
    Suck cpu for 2 seconds

3. Low priority
    Same as 1