Linux, Solaris and Windows

1. sorry to make my first post a help post, but I have to start somewhere.

2. I am new to QNX and about to start a rather large project on a “powerful” embedded device using QNX 6.3.0.

3. my question:

is there any difference between developing for a QNX 6.3.0 system from Linux, Solaris or Windows.

I haven’t been able to find any since all the development uses Eclipse and Momentics, but I’m still in doubt whether it’s the exact same IDE because Eclipse support Mac and the QNX site does not mention being Mac compatible.

Eclipse is a Java application, so it will run om any platform with a appropriate JVM.
The QNX tools, e.g. compiler, linker, debugger are native to QNX, they run under a cygwin on a windows platform.
I assume on Linux (never used Linux as a development host myself) that they are ported to linux.

Now I doubt that these tools would run on a Mac, So stick to either Linux or Windows.
My experience with running Momentics on a Widows host was a pretty good one, a few minor gripes, building big projects was a little slow, but I use a 2GHz laptop.
Should be much better with a dual core speed of light modern jobbie.

I am sure this thread will attract a few opinions.

Thanks for the quick reply

I hope it will attract a lot of attention, not because I want a Linux vs. Windows discussion, but because my project probably will be developed in a mixed platform environment consisting of Linux and Windows and I don’t care witch is better i just want to know if a compiler/Eclipse bug on a Windows Host applies to a Linux host as well.

You can also develop natively under QNX6, but the JVM and version of the IDE is one step behind, I don’t recommend it.