Questions from a complete newbie

Hi! I’m really new to QNX, I don’t know much yet and I can’t find an FAQ or anything, nor can I find basically any info about it, so here are all of my questions:

• Does EOL also mean “free”? I downloaded QNX 6.4 off of archive.org, and the QNX website says that it’s EOL and offers a free download, but if I distribute it for free, will I get a cease and desist letter from Blackberry in the mail?
  • Where can I get programs for QNX? Is there some sort of package manager or central repository? Even a site maybe?
  • How do I learn QNX? How can I really get familiar with the terminal and the like?
  • Is there a tutorial on how to code for QNX? I wanna learn programming and making applications for QNX seems like an interesting goal to work towards.
  • How can I compile things for QNX? I can’t find anything on it. Is there a port of make for QNX?
  • Can I run QNX 6.4 on a 64 bit machine?
  • What is “BSP”?

Sorry if these are dumb questions that are addressed elsewhere, I really just don’t know that much right now and I can’t find places to learn more that aren’t extremely confusing Blackberry pages targeted towards corporate consumers or a page about hacking the original 1.44MB demo floppy that hasn’t been updated since 2008.

You can get 3rd party programs that have been ported to QNX here:
http://myqnx.com/download/group.html?programid=8066&sort=bydate

BSP stands for Board Support Package. It’s mean to boot QNX on a specific set of hardware (CPU, Video, Disk Controller etc). You might for example see a BSP for running QNX on say a Raspberry Pi or a BSP for running QNX on a non-Intel processor motherboard.

I am not sure what you downloaded contains the development environment (ie a compiler, make utility etc). It could just be a a runtime version of QNX meant to run already compiled programs. If you run ‘qcc’ from the command prompt what do you see? If qcc isn’t there it means you don’t have the development environment.

Tim