Start programing on QNX

Hello Everybody ,

My Name is Indrit , and im happy to join This wonderful forum ,

I want to start learning and working on QNX for Automotive , Need to understandnformation getting from logs uart and how to work with this language

Is there any way where to start ? may be finding the right literature what to start reading ?

I appreciate everyone that will spent time reading this topic.

Thanks to all

Let’s start at QNX for Automotive. While I’ve been using QNX for about 35 years and I’ve heard of automotive targeted products from QNX, I know nothing about it.

A while back Blackberry created a pad and a phone that ran on QNX. QNX provided a development environment to build apps. The problem from my point of view was that this was all inside some kind of sandbox, so none of the lower level details I knew about QNX were relevant. For all I know, the same might be true about their automotive products. That is, you might not need to know anything about QNX, just about whatever API came with your automotive product.

With all that out of the way, how does one learn about QNX? The product used to come with a set of manuals. They are now available online or with the development environement. Personally, I like books which I can browse through. You might find a set of QNX 6 books around. Most of what you would read is still true, although there is more now and less. QNX dispensed with a GUI in favor of a generic video interface called screen which you can run other things on top of, e.g. OpenGl or Qt.

The real lower level stuff like message passing used to be described in the Systems manual. It was just an overview. From there you could look up specific API routines and look through the section on resource managers. If you want to do anything serious with QNX, you have to learn about resource managers. Robert Kyrten wrote a couple good books for QNX 6 which should be relevant to QNX 7. Here’s the first one you might look at: