QNX installation on windows XP (x86)

Hi all,
I’m new to QNX just after it was made Open I downloaded it.
I downloaded “Lite Version - x86 target only” from QNX site.
Installation was peaceful I can compile programs using IDE (4.0.1) ;no issues. But however I can’t run the programs. I get exec failure error.
And second thing is I require some help in getting Phindows running.
Installation has created folders named “host” and “target” but i don’t know how to use them.
Do I require some more things to get this working?
How to install Neutrino on say some VMWare?
Please give me pointers to some docs that can help me.
Thanks

Neutrino executables don’t run in Windows, you need a target running QNX (possibly the same machine, install “Neutrino host” version in VMWare or in another partition/disk).

If you want a short introduction to developing an application on a Windows host and running it on a Neutrino target, see the Quickstart Guide. In the IDE’s help system, look for it under “A Roadmap to the QNX Momentics Development Suite”.

I’ve told the QNX folks several times that for newcomers, it’s not clear what they mean by ‘host’ and ‘target’. Many Windows and Linux users are not familiar with the approach of cross development. Even worse, offering a ‘Windows host’ version is interpreted sometimes as ‘a version of the QNX OS which can be run under Windows’. In other words: If you want to run the QNX Neutrino RTOS, you can NOT do it under Windows, you can only do it natively on a PC (it may be emulated with VmWare) or an Embedded board. For the PC, you need AN EXTRA CD IMAGE to install from (no, the Windows host CD won’t do it). For an Embedded board, you need a so called Board Support Package.

Hi All, I’m newbie to QNX too, so - where this image can be obtained ???
Could I install QNX OS on my PC (or vmware) using QNX Host CD ???

Hi andreyr,
Welcome to QNX world I also started recently.