socket programming?

I am a novice socket programmer, and my question is,
after a client and server has made connected in stream mode, how can both receive and send data independent of each other.

I guess what I want is like a chat session, where client can receive when server is typing and server can do the same when client is typing.

sample code would be good.

Thanks

I think the obvious way would be using two threads.

is using select() to monitor the socket to see if data is ready more popular?

Please define popular. I think you mean have select monitor the socket and the keyboard. I’m sure that will work fine, but for the application you defined, one in which the outgoing has nothing to do with the incoming data, I’d think two threads would be a lot easier. Doesn’t even have to be threads for that matter, could be two separate processes.

I think select is better. It is simpler, and more reliable (there is no possibility for race conditions).

ok, now my next question is, how can I just forward the data received from one socket to another socket? I don’t know the type of data or it’s size (ie char, int,float, struct etc…) I just don’t care because all I need to do is do some port forwarding. Do I have to use RAW socket in this case? What data type should I make the buffer when calling recv() and send()?

Thanks

recv() and send() don’t care what type of data you send, although the compiler might.
They only care how many bytes.

i guess you want to forward the phrelay protocol
have fun… :slight_smile:

• disable signal SIGPIPE (or handle it) to prevent program termination when you try to use send() on an closed socket (in a special case the select reports you can send() but in the meantime between select() and send() the socket gets closed on system level, the error condition after such a send() is errno==EBADF, you can just call close() on such socket)
signal(SIGPIPE,SIG_IGN);
  • use socket type SOCK_STREAM
socket_fd = socket(AF_INET, SOCK_STREAM, 0);