QNX windows 2 files locking

We have a couple of machines that are running QNX windows runtime 2.3 and support is getting thin from the oem.

They dial in and say that files got locked? and they unlock them.

It took them almost a week to figure this out they said we had hardware problem.

I’m not a Qnx programer can some one explaine to me what this is?
I am a plc programer and know dos that is about as far as my programing goes.

thanks

Tom

You don’t mention whether you are using QNX 2 or QNX 4, and there was a QNX windows for each of them. I don’t know all that much about QNX windows, but I’m guessing the problem was one of two things. Sometimes file locks are implemented by putting a “lockfile” in a directory somewhere. When the file is unlocked, the lockfile is deleted. If the system should crash, the lockfile remains.

A more QNX type problem would be a BUSY file. In QNX 2, if a file is opened for write or read-write, a busy bit is turned on in the directory entry. When the file is closed it is removed. If the system crashes while files are open in this manner, the busy bit will stick. Normally files will fail to open when their busy bit is on. Turning on a system and finding a file in this state can be either a nuisance, or a warning. When a file is being created, or extended, until it is closed there is the possibility that the disk is in an inconsistent state. Just un-busying the file can cause problems as the file system might be corrupted. If a file has already been created, and is opened read-write, the file system can be fine, although the internal state of the data could be corrupted. This is an application, not QNX issue.

So the bottom line is, if you have busy files, you should to the following.

1. Find the busy files as follows
    $ files 3:/ +v +b
  2. If the file is a log file that you don’t need, you are probably best off making it dissappear
    $ zap filename