QNX 3.21

Hi !

I’m quite new to QNX.
My experience in LINUX is low but in DOS or Windows my experience is very better.

In our company we have 2 machines which run under QNX 3.21

Can anybody give me some information about the restrictions of the file system (max. files per directory, max. length of names, max. file-size, …)

Is there any tool available which is similiar with the old norton commander (file manager in DOS) ? Or exists a graphic file manager for QNX 3.21 ?
Can i include it in the startup procedure ? (like autoexec.bat in DOS ?)

The reason for my questions is that the software of our machines stores the data (for production) in separate directorys (one directory = one article). In this directories the machine-software constructs a huge number of files ! Sometimes there are so many file that the command
rm .fsc
doesn’t works. Then i have to erase the files in more steps like:
rm 1
.fsc
rm 2*.fsc
rm 3*.fsc
and so on, and so on.

The deletion of the data is necessary when the whole article has changed and his happens sometimes very often.
(at the beginning of the production the data is transferred through a Windows PC to QNX via RS232)

I also have the problem that some files can’t be deleted (the command ZAP also doesn’t works) - chkfsys returns no error ! Any idea how to deal with this files ?

And one last question:
Can i change the resolution of the graphic card (now its 640x480) to 800x600 or 1024x768 ???

Some of my questions maybe seem stupid but what shall i do ? I don’t have a manual of QNX 3.21 either i know all the commands in QNX 3.21.

Thanks for your efforts !

Kind regards,

Andrew

The 3 in 3.21 refers to protected mode. This is version 2.21.

Can anybody give me some information about the restrictions of the file >system (max. files per directory, max. length of names, max. file-size, >…)

File name length 16

File Size, I’m pretty sure it is 2^^31, although a file that big in QNX 2 would be a bit much.