Need help with Hardware setup using 800MHz PC104 with 512ram

Hi

I’m a newbie to the group, and QNX. So, I managed to find three PC104s that someone else was running QNX on, when they had hard drives.

Can’t seem to find the specs, but the wires are in place to connect to video, hard drives, … I don’t have a model number at the moment either as they are sitting in storage - a few miles away from me. Looking for the information that was sent with them, but think that’s in storage to.

These three are identical and from ADVANCED MICRO PERIPHERALS Ltd.
800 MHz with 512 MB Ram.

What I would like help with is what hardware configuration I should use, and does any one have a Touch Screen for sale. Or an old QNX/Neutrino kit with a touch screen for sale? :exclamation:

Thanks,
Terry :slight_smile:

Not sure what you mean by “what hardware configuration should I use”?

Doesn’t that depend on what you’re going to be connecting to the board and what your specific project needs are?

Sorry, no touchscreen here. Years ago I used a touchscreen with a PC104 project. It started out with a Microtouch controller that was replaced early on with some custom FPGA code and driver.

Hi Kwschumm - thanks for responding.

Well now that I have picked it up from storage, I’m not so worried about setting it up as based on the wiring most of it is obvious.

1. Well for one, does anyone know how to setup the power supply [5 volts] from say a 6 or 12 volt battery? Either a unit I can buy, or the schematics to build one? I’m considering buying a lab power supply off of ebay, but I would like to run it off battery if possible as part of a step in the right direction for the robotics project I’m working on. Of course, I can search the net as well, but if some one knows of an existing unit or schematics that would be better.