Calling a script from a C program??

Hi, I’m a little new at QNX and I am having a really annoying problem. I need to FTP a file every minute to my web server and then make some graphs and such. I figured why not call an FTP script from the C program??

I can call other functions like “touch” and “rm” using the system command with no problem:

system(“touch blah”); ← Creates a file called blah…

Then, not even getting into FTP, I tried to just write an FTP script called script to do touch:

#!/bin/sh

touch blah

It runs fine when script is called, but when added to the C program, it won’t call it:

system(“script”);

Shawn,

script is a shell reserved word. So what’s happening is the shell reserved word is getting executed not your script.

Just rename to foo (don’t use test because that is also a reserved shell word) and it will work.

Tim

Yea…I’ve tried a couple of different names for my script. Still doesn’t work…

Have you thought about the path? When you spawn a system call, you aren’t neccessarily where you think you are, and you don’t neccessarily have the environment you think you have. Even “.” may not be in the path. Try

system("/path/to/the/script/foo"); 

instead.

-James Ingraham
Sage Automation, Inc.

Yep…tried the system path too…i’ve been google-ing this thing for days now. I’ve tried:

system(“foo”);

system("/temp/foo");

system("/bin/sh /temp/foo");

system("/bin/sh -c /temp/foo");

system("/bin/foo"); <–moved to bin for the heck of it at one point

Then I got into the execl(“foo”); area

I even tried chmod 777 foo and making sure I was the owner and in the group

This is getting tiresome…sigh…I never thought something to simple would slow my project down so much…

Is the script not being found, or is it not working? You mentioned using ftp. ftp usually requires human intervention, so it doesn’t work well in a script.

Define doesn’t work. Does system() return an error code, what is the value of errno?

Shawn,