building boot image with custom device drivers

Hi all,

I’ve been running QNX 6.3 on a system to do my developmental testing. The system includes an 8 port serial IO card which I needed to install drivers for in the /sbin and /etc/system/enum/devices folders. Now I’d like to build an image containing my application and the serial card drivers (along with some standard utilities). What do I need to do to the build file to get these drivers in the right locations?

FYI, I’m rather new to the QNX/Linux world, and very new to the building boot images process… Any help is much appreciated though!

Thanks,
Andy

There is a nice section in the documentation that explain it all.

QNX Neutrino RTOS/Building Embedded System

There is a nice section in the documentation that explain it all.

QNX Neutrino RTOS/Building Embedded System

Thanks for the info mario. I looked over the document and there seems to be some good info in there, but I haven’t found anything that seems to be directly related to what I want to do (or I’m just too naive to recognize it - which is probably the case).

There were two files that I copied to QNX for the serial card to work:

1. /etc/system/enum/devices/PCISERIAL

device(pci, ven=135e, dev=7804) uniq(sernum, devc-ser, 1) driver(8PTPCISER, $(sernum $(ioport1) $(irq) )

1. /sbin/8PTPCISER

[code]#!/bin/sh
unit=$1
ioport1=$2
ioport2=echo "obase=16; ibase=16; $ioport1 + 8;" | bc
ioport3=echo "obase=16; ibase=16; $ioport2 + 8;" | bc
ioport4=echo "obase=16; ibase=16; $ioport3 + 8;" | bc
ioport5=echo "obase=16; ibase=16; $ioport4 + 8;" | bc
ioport6=echo "obase=16; ibase=16; $ioport5 + 8;" | bc
ioport7=echo "obase=16; ibase=16; $ioport6 + 8;" | bc
ioport8=echo "obase=16; ibase=16; $ioport7 + 8;" | bc
irq=$3

devc-ser8250 -u$unit $ioport1,$irq $ioport2,$irq $ioport3,$irq $ioport4,$irq $ioport5,$irq $ioport6,$irq $ioport7,$irq $ioport8,$irq[/code]