ISR using InterruptAttach

Hi

I have a single thread and in that thread I’ve defined my ISR_Handler() function. Now, I use the InterruptAttach() call to register this function with an IRQ (say 7).

Now when the IRQ line 7 is asserted,

1. Does the processor immediately performs the context-switch and execute the ISR or is there a delay?

2. Where is this ISR_Handler() function executed, in my thread (user-space) or somewhere else?

3. Why does ISR_Handler() function have limitations on use of library functions?

1 - Yes
2- It’s run in the context of the kernel ( but using the address space of the process)
3 - Because of 2

To fix 3, check out InterruptAttachEvent, but that does add a small delay/overhead.

The answer 2 is very confusing…i must say i’m a novice, can you please elaborate more… btw Thanks for the reply.

The stack use will be that of the kernel, if the code crashed it will crash the kernel. If you try to allocated memory it will fail because it would be as if the kernel would try to allocate memory and not your program, which the kernel doesn’t support.

I’d like to add a little to what Mario has said.

1. When the interrupt handler fires, there is a hardware context switch that occurs. At that point you are not in your ISR yet. There are two reasons why your ISR might be delayed. 1) More than one ISR is attached to line 7. 2) A higher priority interrupt is in process. By the generally accepted rules of interrupt handlers (they need to be short) neither should involve a big delay, but if you are capturing the even on a scope, you could see these.