QNX on a single floppy

I heard about QNX kernel, GUI and webbrowser on a single 1.44 Mb bootable floppydisk. Can I still get that ?

public.planetmirror.com/pub/qnx/demodisk/
or windoze.doesntexist.com/qnx/ (at the bottom.)

I’m new to QNX, but i was wondering about that 1.44mb bootable floppydisk. Is it possible for me to remake that so i can fit some other features on it?

sure, QNX sells an Internet Appliance Toolkit (IAT) for this: qnx.com/products/iat.html

schoenbrun.com/mba/faq.htm#L21 seems to say it is $500 for the IAT CD, including the printed docs.

thnx for the info noc.
$500 is pretty much, considering i’m just a student who’s experimenting with qnx ^^

$500 is only for the paper copy of the docs. The price for the whole kit is missing.

That confused me too, but $500 for docs? come one, I can buy 10 copies of Robert’s book with that :slight_smile: On the other hand, If you look up the price for those components in IAT and add them up, it would be to $10K. Maybe Mitchell can give a clarification.

You don’t need the IAT to build a complete bootable floopy in either QNX4 (which is what the IAT and bootable floopy was) or QNX6.

With QNX4, it was doable to make a special purpose floopy with Photon and your particular drivers. They (QSS) had to work real hard to get enough drivers on the floppy to make it general purpose - as in they used a special purpose compression to compress the whole floppy and decompress it to a ramdisk on boot. And they broke the Photon libs up so they had a small enough shared lib to provide basic fnctions without bring in more than they needed.