ASYNC Messages

Hi,

I’m interested in using the asycn message passing mechanism in QNX - I don’t need (Ir want) my calling sever to block whenever it sends. (My background is using simple OSs where you send events that get clients to wake up and read from mailboxes, so pulses and async messages seem to perfect for this, especially as my clients will be picking up different types of events from other sources.)

I only found this mechanism by accident - it’s not highly publicized in the QNX web pages but seems perfect for what I want to do.

Has anyone got any “gotchas” or any experience with this library?

Some Thoughts

1. If you read the Architectural manual, a really good idea when starting with QNX you will see that Pulses are well documented.
  2. You can use mqueue
  3. With threads its rather easy to have non-blocking messages
  4. Most new users of QNX that I’ve run into who are looking for ways to get asynchronous messages are misunderstanding something fundamental about the way things work.
  1. I have read it. I only came across the async messages feature by accident - I don’t know why you mentioned pulses. They’re fairly well documented.
  2. I know. This is a under consideration, as it’s likely we’re going to ditch QNX for Linux in the near future and it may be a requirement to be posix compliant to minimize porting.
  3. Well of course it is, that wasn’t my question.
  4. And this misunderstanding is? I asked the question to get some helpful advice, not patronised. Maybe when you’ve stopped showing off you could elucidate.

Well I guess I didn’t say that too well.

My point is that if you are using “Async Messages” in QNX for anything other than portability you are probably on the wrong track.

You probably don’t like this either?

No, you didn’t say it too well at all.