How do you image a QNX 4.25 drive?

I am new to QNX, none the less have been charged with maintenance on a QNX 4.25 system. One thing I would like to do is create disk images of all the hdd’s. Some are in Beckhoffs, some are in Dells.

One of the contractors that installed this system, a QNX guru, told me that I could do this with a program called Ghost.

Does anyone know where I can obtain a version of Ghost for QNX? Or does it run from a DOS disk or something?
Further, are there CDROM R/W drives and drivers available for QNX 4.25 ? I need something to put the images on, assuming I can actually create them.

cp /dev/hd0 image.name

might work - assuming you are copying to another drive/machine for the destination.

Ghost is a windows program as far as I know. The problem is that even with an image, what if the new drive (when you need it) is a different layout in terms of heads, sectors, etc. You back up a 5 gig drive today and when you need to replace it, you won’t even be able to buy less than a 100 gig. :frowning:

I would suggest that you want to make backups in the more traditional unix style but there are even issues with that. You can backup the files, but making the replacement system bootable take a couple additional step because the /.boot files (and a couple others) are special.

Hi.

You can use dd as well, the ghost utility is a clonning tool from symantech, you can download it from their home page, the current version is 7.0 and support lots of file systems, and you can resize the partition on the fly if you want, you need to make a winBug boot disk and run the ghost7.exe from it.

Be carefull to clone to a disk larger then the size of the image you created, I mean from a 20GB hard disk to a 20 GB or 40GB there is no problem.

Bytes