How to implement Progress bar

Hi,
I am new to photon GUI programming. Could you please help me to get implement a progress bar. How to update the status of progress dynamically from program ? Please help.

Regards,
hello

You can create a ProgressBar widget and give it a name, ex: PtProgress1.

In your code, you can set it status by a value (it’s minimum value is 0 and maximum is 100):

long i;
for (i=0;i<100;i++)
{
PtSetResource( ABW_PtProgress1, Pt_ARG_GAUGE_VALUE, i, 0);
PgFlush();
}

Yes, but this code will not work. It has two flaws. For starters, even if using PtSetResource() and PgFlush() could be used this way, you would only see the result of i=99, and nothing in between. You might think that putting a delay() in the loop would solve the problem, but it would not. After a delay of 100 x delay-amount you would again see the result of i=99. I’m stressing all this because it is confusing to the neophyte and fundamental to understanding how the Photon GUI API works.

For the most part, to see the screen updated, you have to return from your callback.

There is a way around this in QNX 6. Create a thread and use the following code:

void *mythread(void x)
{
int i;
int ret;

for(i=0;i<100;i++)
{
    ret = PtEnter();
    PtSetResource( ABW_PtProgress1, Pt_ARG_GAUGE_VALUE, i, 0);
    PtLeave(ret);
    delay(200);
 }
 return(NULL);

}

Having learned the hard way I recommend against this type of coding and using PtLeave() and PtEnter() except in very limited circumstances where the convenience justifies it. Unless you are very disciplined, you will get weird thread related crashes that can be difficult to debug. Instead I think it is better to signal the main thread by sending a message or a pulse, and have a callback in the main thread call PtSetResource(). This is much cleaner.

If the progress bar it to be updated periodically, then you can just use a timer.

Thank you all.

Regards,
hello

I am very interested in learning more about that if you don’t mind.