QT application without Photon Fonts

Hi,

I’m new to QT library and QNX. I’ve a task to port an existing QT application to the QNX platform. So I created I simple QT application in order to understand how the things work. I managed to run this application on QNX x86 running on VirtualBox. My main task is to port the application to QNX armle-v7 Harman device. The problem is that the version of QNX on the device is modified e.g. it has no photon at all (no ph, no phfont, nothing photon related). Here is where the problem begins. QT applications seems to need photon’s fonts in order to work. And when I start the application it says - “QFontDatabase: Cannot find font directory /usr/photon/font_repository - is Qt installed correctly?”. I see that there is no such directory “/usr/photon” and of course no “/usr/photon/font_repository”. I could try to create it manually and set the fonts inside, but is this the only way? I mean, there should be some way to tell to the QT application to not use photon fonts, or something like that?

Any help is highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Well I find this very curious. I was under the possibly incorrect assumption that Qt deals with fonts on it’s own, independent of anything else on the target system. How else would it be a portable graphics library?

I’ve never tried to run Qt on a QNX system that didn’t have Photon installed. I’ve also been through the Qt source code and thought I had found all the QNX specific changes, none of which had anything to do with using the font manager.

I look forward to finding out if I am wrong about this.

Having had a minute to think about this, I’m going to guess that when you run your program, you direct Qt to the /usr/photon/font_repository directory with an environment variable. This works on the VMWare system because the photon font directory is there, but obviously not on the Harmon system.